Jun 3 | A Room with a View

Assigment Day Two: We’re all drawn to certain places. If you had the power to get somewhere — anywhere — where would you go right now?

That is a tough one. It sounds so easy, yet it is so difficult. I hope my “brain squirrel” doesn’t interfere and close my eyes…

I would go to a meadow.

The grass is lush and green, and the blades are just the right length so you can sink back into the softness and tickling of the low green jungle around you. Surrounding the meadow are soft hills, and in the distance you can see mountains rising, and the edge of a wood not too far off.

I lie back in the grass, let me surround by it and listen to the sound of a light breeze rustling through the vivid green. From my point of view, I still can see the heads of wildflowers bobbing in the wind. Cornflowers, blue like an evening sky. Poppy, red and orange like a fiery sunset. White morning glories and lupines in between them like clouds. And pink and violet sweet pea blossoms, like little umbrellas between it all. Yellow, more orange, more fuzzy white. A rainbow is dancing over the blades. Why? It’s currently calm. Maybe it’s a little mouse scampering through where I cannot see it.

But I can here it making a rustling noise. And I can hear small buzzing sounds, and sometimes a bee or a bumblebee crosses my field of view. Bumblebees – they are cute. I really like them, these little chubby ambassadors of insect friendliness.

While another bee buzzes off, I look at the sky. It is of an intense light blue, with little cotton-wool clouds. They look friendly. One looks like a little elephant, another could be…whatever. The sun is warming me like a comfy blanket. Too strenuous to interpret something into cloud shapes when you are lying on your back in a meadow and enjoying the buzzing and rustling around you, and the soft touch of the grass blades that caress your bare arms. I close my eyes.

 

 

The challenge and the original assignment can be found here: Writing 101 – Day Two

Leave a Reply

