Jun 10 | Give and Take

Assigment Day Seven: Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things, whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else. The twist? Write the post in the form of a dialogue.

 

“I want to sleep. Could you maybe please turn the light off?”

“Just one more minute. See, the chapter ends in about 1.5 pages. Let me just finish it. It won’t take long.”

“Hmm…”

Silence. Darkness on one side of the room, dimmed light on the other one.

Fifteen minutes later.

“Honey…”

“Yes, yes… I know.”

Impossible to put the book down now.

“It is just sooooo gripping right now.”

“Hmm…”

Another five minutes pass.

“Honey… please!”

I give in.

“Okay. I’ll turn the light off.”

Darkness everywhere.

 

Dialogue… contrast… That leaves a lot of possible subjects. Dialogues between my husband and me. Dialogues with my mother. Dialogues with my weaker self. All of them full of confrontational contrasts. So difficult to pick one. My favorite discussions usually involve me mentioning I am way too chubby and my husband contradicting me. A subject most of the women in this world can probably relate to. Whatever we do, we are never satisfied with ourselves. Or rarely.

Anyway, that was too easy. And also too complicated at the same time. It felt stupid to chose a subject like that. Because… I mean, honestly… what would I look like in your eyes? 🙂

But… it does not leave me alone somehow.

Maybe one day… Let my little “brain squirrel” think about it a little more. 🙂

 

 

The challenge and the original assignment can be found here: Writing 101 – Day Seven

Leave a Reply

