Jun 15 | Happy Sprinkles

Assignment Day Ten: Today, be inspired by a favorite childhood meal. For the twist, focus on infusing the post with your unique voice – even if that makes you a little nervous.

 

For once,  this twist does not make me nervous at all. My voice is my voice, after all. Sometimes my brain should work a little longer on what my voice articulates so that it is not “verbal blunt force trauma” all the time. People who know me will know what I am talking about. But still – my voice is my voice, and I like it and will keep it that way. 🙂

More difficult is the choice of the favorite childhood meal. But I think I found something after jogging my “palate memory” a little. It is more comfort food than something that was a treat or that was served to celebrate. And I really have problems remembering other dishes. I even asked my mother but she hasn’t gotten back to me yet. 🙂

 

So… Something mundane. And something special. Both served at my grandparents’ place.

The first was fresh bread, rye most probably, with a thick layer of butter, covered in chocolate sprinkles. It was very important that the sprinkles were pressed into the butter with the side of the knife, to create a firmly packed ‘stulle’ (=sandwich) and a close to smooth surface with maximum chocolate density. The relative sour taste of the bread, its soft texture, the cool softness of the butter, somewhere between firm and creamy, and the sweetness and also crunchiness of the sprinkles would melt to a joyous feast of taste and texture in my mouth. To this day, I still love to eat this, but it has been a while. I think a decade at least, or maybe even more. But just thinking about it now, and those happy times as a kid back at my grandparents’ dining room table… these are fond memories.

The latter was the Sunday duck my grandparents made on special occasions. Stuffed with prunes, apples and raisins, with dumpling or potatoes on the side, and crispy skin (and tender meat) to die for. Preparation always happened in an old ‘Römertopf’ (clay pot) in the range in the basement. This meal was one for the entire family, so we all sat down and enjoyed it together. More fond memories that make my tummy rumble and my heart ache a little.

 

And always remember: if you like it and enjoy it in moderation, chances are slim that it is bad for you. If you’re also thinking food here, that is. 🙂

 

The challenge and the original assignment can be found here: Writing 101 – Day Ten

2 comments

  1. Loved it. I know we’re not supposed to say that, but hey. The descriptions are good, made me want to eat rye bread and try the chocolate sprinkles. Enjoy the foreign language words too. Hearty food. Liked the heartstring tug at the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

