Jun 17 | Dark clouds on the horizon

Assignment Day Twelve: Write a post with roots in a real-world conversation. For a twist, include foreshadowing.

 

Foreshadowing… That’s my kind of thing. Although most of the time, it just means the sun is coming from behind me.

And I think today I will take the assignment literally.

 

The afternoon was gloomy. The sun was long gone, covered by dark clouds that hung in the sky. It looked like a painting, full of dark-blue tufts, almost violet in some parts, heavy with the promise of rain. The skies were close to let eager water drops out of their fluffy prisons and shower down on earth. Or at least, it looked like it.

“We’re gonna get wet. I said to bring an umbrella, but you didn’t want to listen…”

“Don’t be such a wet blanket… Or maybe… who knows, maybe you’ll be one in a second or two. Haha!”

“Very funny. I don’t like getting caught in the rain.”

“And what if… it is only water, after all.”

“You know what… (insert angry-miserable-desperate look right here) You are right. And I really like how it looks. I can almost touch the clouds. It’s intense, like a Van Gogh painting, only in real life. The denseness of the colors…”

“See that fat cloud over there? It has almost the color of an intense fresh bruise…”

“Remember the one I had on my hip when I fell off the paddle board last summer? That is indeed really close to the color…”

I got wet that summer, when I fell off the board.

And we got wet when the skies opened seconds later and thick rain drops rushed down to meet the dry surface. And us. We danced a little in the rain, laughter rose to meet the deluge from above, and then we took off to find the nearest dry spot.

 

Dark clouds

 

The challenge and the original assignment can be found here: Writing 101 – Day Twelve

Leave a Reply

