Jun 20 | Your voice will find you

Assignment Day Fifteen: You’re told that an event that’s dear to your heart — an annual fair, festival, or conference — will be cancelled forever (or taken over by an evil organization). Write about it.

 

Here we go. Starting with a confession: I don’t really like ‘events’. I am not a huge friend of immersing myself into a crowd, since it makes me feel really uncomfortable. And I have a really hard time to think of anything that would make my cry out loud in despair if it were cancelled. So what is dear to my heart and could be cancelled?

Since I am currently ‘binge watching’ as many Soccer World Cup matches as I can, the answer might be nearer than I think. And I don’t like being political (since I basically understand nothing about that), so please forgive me if this might have side blows.

 

Today’s news revealed revolting facts: Russia has just announced the cancellation of the Soccer World Cup in 2018.

Seriously, Russia?

People love soccer for a multitude of reasons. Since we moved to the United States, I have been explaining these reasons more often than before when we lived in Germany, where soccer is part of popular culture and you are expected to follow the ‘Bundesliga’ (premier league). Unless you’re not into soccer. At all. Or just don’t get it.

Fun fact: I am a ‘World Cup Bitch’. Meaning – I love soccer dearly, every four years. My thoughts focus on the game, I become an expert on the rules again (and let me tell you, I even understand most of them), I am passionately cheering for my country/team, and only have devastating comments, thoughts and looks for the opposing one. But lately it also has happened that I just enjoy the game – if it is a good one, that is. Two opponents fighting to win the match, brilliant moves, no foul play, fast-running legs, eyes on the ball. The joy of watching that can overpower the only national pride I show. Easily.

Little interlude: this might also be due to the fact that I totally don’t get any of the sports that are popular around here. Baseball? Nope. Football? Nil. Rugby? Forget it. Golf? Didn’t even interest me back in Germany… 

And fact is – I am not the only one who loves soccer (even if only in two-year-turns since there are also European Championships between the World Cups). Millions and millions of people all over the world follow soccer. They love watching gripping games, seeing teams deemed out of others’ class winning or falling into shame, unexpected victories, sweat, a little blood, a lot of spit. Sods of grass lying around, the ball being kicked. They cheer for their home teams, feel connected. And everyone is a little equal – fans are fans, aren’t they? Political issues sometimes don’t have priority during this time, they are mostly left out of the stadium. We should keep track, of course, not focussing only on ‘play time’, but it is nice to forget about poverty, hunger and misery for a little while sometimes. This is one of the key purposes of games like this, isn’t it? At least for me, that’s a big part. Taking the mind off. Unfortunately, some countries commit rather grisly deeds in order to host Olympics, or World Cups, or the like. But that is an entirely different story for another day.

So Russia – you want to deprive people of enjoying an international sports competition, providing excitement to the masses, taking their minds off everyday problems?

Please don’t. Because then we have to talk again about all those political issues. And that would be a very long talk, that you would probably try to solve with guns. Hostility. Violence. Oppression. Jail. And so much more that is (in my opinion) so unnecessary nowadays. Get it together, Russia.

 

Aaaaand… off to see the next match!

 

Soccer

 

Btw: ‘For your twist, read your piece aloud, multiple times. Hone that voice of yours!’ So expect the audio book to this piece pretty soon. 🙂 Since I am forced to watch most of the matches on a Mexican channel, I was tempted to add a little ‘Goooooooooooooooooooooooool’ to the piece just to see how it would sound out of my mouth. And how long I could do it. But I didn’t. 🙂 And I bet you’re glad about it…

 

The challenge and the original assignment can be found here: Writing 101 – Day Fifteen

One comment

Leave a Reply

