Jun 27 | Don’t stop the rockin’

Assignment Day Nineteen: Today is a free writing day. Write at least four-hundred words, and once you start typing, don’t stop. No self-editing, no trash-talking, and no second guessing: just go. Bonus points if you tackle an idea you’ve been playing with but think is too silly to post about.

 

I thought a lot about this challenge these last few days. I became kind of obsessed with it. Maybe as much as with soccer. Haha… Part of the obsession may have been due to the fact that I was so behind on the assignments. I felt the pressure. I am bad with pressure. I also can handle it great, it pushes me, motivates me. But the pressure I put onto myself… that is the hardest one.

This challenge has shown me that I can see things through. Yay! It also has shown me how many other people are out there that have excellent ways of expressing themselves, pulling me in, attracting me with their words, making me ponder things i never wondered about. That is good. Thinking about stuff that usually does not come across my mind, I love that. It keeps me focused on the world out there and the uncounted possibilities and opportunities life has to offer.

And it shows me what other people deal with. Daily, weekly, only sometimes, in reality, in their heads, on paper… Whenever, wherever. So many of you are so inspiring and you have not the slightest clue about it. Maybe I am inspiring too, but haven’t realized it (yet). And maybe never will. I love to make people laugh, smile, feel better. If I achieved that with some pieces of this blog, I would be so happy. Being happy isn’t always easy for me, sometimes I wonder whether I really know how to be happy and how to feel satisfied. I am a pessimist, an over-achiever, a perfectionist. Letting go of these things is hared than I thought, but I keep trying. Some of those that I “virtually met” through this challenge opened my eyes to ways how to do that. How to overcome fears. How to live with what you have, and how to make the best of it. How to be cheery. Thanks!

I wonder how I will keep writing on a regular basis in the future. These daily prompts have been helpful in more than one way. They provided inspiration, unusual thoughts, challenges about style and form. Maybe I keep it up and use the “Daily Prompt” instead. Or collect them for seven days and then select a “weekly prompt”. It is fun not to have to come up with your own ideas all the time, but I think I will also report again from the daily life of the legal alien that I am.

A little over 400 words. Bye for today, stay tuned for future adventures.

 

The challenge and the original assignment can be found here: Writing 101 – Day Nineteen

Leave a Reply

