Jun 27 | Hone your point of view

Assignment Day Eighteen: Craft a story from the perspective of a twelve-year-old observing it all. For your twist, focus on specific character qualities, drawing from elements we’ve worked on in this course, like voice and dialogue.

 

The neighbourhood has seen better days, but Mrs. Pauley has lived there since before anyone can remember. She raised a family of six boys, who’ve all grown up and moved away. Since Mr. Pauley died three months ago, she’d had no income. She’s fallen behind in the rent. The landlord, accompanied by the police, have come to evict Mrs. Pauley from the house she’s lived in for forty years.

 

Sitting on the stairs outside was nice. I had a good overview of our street, and the neighborhood. And I was far away from my mother inside who expected me to help with dinner. Gross. Didn’t want to. Way better to keep tabs on the neighbors.

Mrs. Pauley from over the street got visitors. Police, several men in uniform. Some young, some older, just one with a bulging belly who looked like he ate too many doughnuts. But didn’t they all do that? At least, that was what all the TV series suggested. Then why didn’t they show? But… whatever. I wouldn’t find out unless I crossed the street and asked them. Which I certainly wouldn’t do. They probably would arrest me for that, too. Mum always said I was too mouthy, didn’t want to prove it by being taken away in a police car.

So I just let them arrest Mrs. Pauley. Or I watched them while they led her away, followed by the man who owned her house. Her landlord. That sounds all high and mighty, but he wasn’t fitting the description. Apparently, she hadn’t paid the rent for some time. She also did not have a job to earn money, but how could she?! She was really really wizened and old, probably a hundred already or older. Maybe she was a witch, but I don’t think so. She was always so nice, and had little toys or candy for us kids in her apron pockets. And then she would just have done a little magic, and she could have paid the rent. Her husband had died a little while ago, and her sons (all really old too, like between 25 and 40 or so) also didn’t help her. They hadn’t even helped her when the tree fell on the garage the other month. That’s not nice of children, I thought to myself. Sometimes, children should also help their parents. Because they also help us a lot.

I got up and went inside and help my mother set the table and cook dinner.

When I came back out, Mrs. Pauley was gone.

 

The challenge and the original assignment can be found here: Writing 101 – Day Eighteen

Leave a Reply

