Jul 18 | Fictional Intruder

Since I was wondering how I would continue my regular blogging habit, I kept an eye on the daily prompts of The Daily Post, to see if something would catch my attention. And this one did…

“Go down the rabbit hole with Alice; play quidditch with Harry Potter; float down the river with Huck Finn… If you could choose three fictional events or adventures to experience yourself, what would they be?”

 

Reading has been part of my life for as long as I can remember (and probably read). I started “disappearing” in books as soon as I was old enough, and my mom used to take me to the local library to satisfy my thirst for knowledge and readable material. So it is no surprise that my book shelves are kind of overflowing with fictional characters. If this were a hostel, we would be fully booked and Harry Potter might have to share a room with someone from the Neverending Story, the Hobbit or with Sherlock Holmes. Shakespeare characters would drink tea with Rimbaud’s poetry, and vampires and werewolves would hide in the crawlspace (not much space to hide there, though).

I love almost every kind of fiction and non-fiction that exists, with a slight emphasis on fiction. And sometimes, even really fictional fiction. Some might say that my taste in reading material is dubious, but who cares. 🙂 Back to the subject: I definitely would love to join some of the characters populating my book shelf on a trip of certain or uncertain outcome. Of course, the decision is not an easy one because I simply suck at decisions and picking favorites, and I have quite a few.

 

First of all, I’d take a trip on the Dawn Treader. It’s a ship; not quite a Queen Mary 2, but certainly also no Titanic. Anyway. The ship belongs to King Caspian of Narnia, and visits strange lands and several islands in dangerous seas while on a quest to find the Seven Lost Lords of Narnia. Who would not want to join in on this one? On the minus side, sure, you have to encounter grave dangers, strange creatures and fight for your life one time or the other. But on the plus side, you also encounter endless wonders, sail to the edge of the world, see a bratty boy turned into a dragon and back (character changing experience for that dude, believe me) and you meet the greatest mouse of all times, Reepicheep, who is a pretty chivalric rodent, an excellent and courageous fighter, and also really talkative.

After returning from this probably rather wet adventure, going to another world of magic is next on my travel itinerary. Actually, it’s for a job, since they have pretty interesting offers up at Kazam, an employment agency for soothsayers and sorcerers. Since work is drying up, they are in dire need of someone who can push their marketing and do a little public relations to boost business. Did someone mention my name? And tadaaaa – here I am… The training period mainly consists of helping the current manager Jennifer, getting used to Transient Mooses and Flying Carpets and more. Like… whoa… for example the Quarkbeast… Don’t get me started on that one. Interesting character. Anyhow. Upon prediction of the very last existing dragon, things get a little crazy and the manager gets involved in stuff that has something to do with dragonslaying, and then with territorial wars, and since it all seems to go downward from that moment, I just stay for some intense moments of magic and spells, and Quark here and Quark there. And then I take off for home again.

But since home is predictable and boring, why not disappear again into a more interesting universe? I can easily imagine myself being the new sidekick to Thursday Next. Hubilicious ‘Monday’ Prior, how does that sound? Crazy? Appealing? Not good at all? Yep – it might just be somewhere in between. But I ALWAYS wanted to meet Thursday Next, a true heroine, and a literary detective without equal, fear or boyfriend. When characters from works of fiction are being kidnapped and held for ransom, Thursday saves the day. And Jane Eyre. And so much more. She finds her way into the book world, and fights crimes against and in literature. Who wouldn’t really want to be able to take a look behind the scenes of their favorite read ever? And maybe, if I prove worthy, Thursday might let me help solve the next crime (it’s a series, yay!), or just allow me to spend a long weekend in Narnia (if she shows me how to get into that book on my own)? 🙂

 

Of course, Hogwarts, Wonderland and the world of the X-Men each have power over me, and call my name for a visit or two. It just got stronger after writing this. But who says you have to limit yourself to three adventures? Take a book, start reading, get lost between letters and chapters!

 

If you want to join these adventures or maybe first discover the worlds they’re set in, here’s where you find more information:

  • The Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis (more specifically: Book 5 – The Voyage of the Dawn Treader)
  • The Last Dragonslayer, by Jasper Fforde
  • The Eyre Affair, also by Jasper Fforde

 

Leave a Reply

