Aug 27 | The “Liebster Award”

Liebster Award

As I might have mentioned a while back, I was nominated for two awards. And finally, my weaker self allowed me today to get blogging about the second one. Little delaying bastard… 🙂

The very dear Tempest Rose from Nonsense & Shenanigans thought me worthy of a Liebster Award. Funny thing: I got the nomination on my birthday, so I had more than one reason to do a little happy dance in my living room. What a great gift from a great blogger!!!

And I have to admit: the feeling of appreciation (“Someone reads my blog and really likes it!”) is an awesome one. No idea if this lessens if you are more used to receive nominations, and positive feedback, but I hope not. Since I haven’t received awards by the bucket yet, who am I to judge and ponder that question?! 🙂 I also love bestowing the honor on other blogs (always a difficult part), feeling happy about maybe making someone else happy by doing so, and answering all kinds of bizarre questions.

Plus: this award feels a little special. Because it’s name is German. “Liebster” translates into sweetheart / beloved / darling. How lovely!!! Thanks again, Tempest Rose, for letting me know how much you value my little contributions to this big bad world out there!

Of course, also this nomination and cute looking award comes with a set of rules (which luckily leave a little room for interpretation, so they are more like guidelines maybe) and questions and follow-up activities. So here we go.

 

Rules and/or Guidelines:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them.
  2. Display the award logo on your page (in a post or a widget) and write your own acceptance post, like this one, including the “rules” (these or your own).
  3. Answer 10 questions provided to you by the person who nominated you.
  4. Add your own 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate 7 more bloggers for the award, link to them, and notify them.

 

I already know that #4 and #5 will take me the longest (#4: because I always think my questions are not “exciting” or “deep” enough; #5: since I usually try to nominate people who didn’t already received this award like 500 times and who are not already followed by a gazillion people), so bear with me while I am working on that end… If I end up not finding 10 questions or 7 people, it will also not be the end of the world, right?! And rules are made for bending them a little…

 

Nonsense & Shenanigans came up with a few great questions that I have the honor to answer (and a little fun in doing so, too):

 

1. If you could change one thing about your country, what would it be?

Since I am currently living in the USA and not in my native country, Germany, I focus on the former. And don’t get me wrong, I like living here. And most of the people I meet are not that way. But:

I’d love to change how ignorant and inflexible people sometimes are. Especially when they are in a position where they have significant power. And this is definitely not “current-president-bashing”, I am generally speaking with no specific person in mind.

Prohibit guns, come up with more restrictions, don’t let the money-waving lobbies get the better of you, make health insurance work for everyone, let people capable of doing so make decisions about their own life and body, don’t waste money on unnecessary violent conflicts, talk (and do) more about healthy food and lifestyles instead of cutting funds for school meals, don’t make education so damned expensive… I could carry on and on… but it comes down to the same: give each and every one of the people out there a healthy dose of common sense.

Also, on a side note: whoever is responsible, could you please change the weather report for California to a little more rain? We have kind of a situation going on here…

2. What is one thing about your country that makes you unbelievably proud?

How friendly people are. At least here where we live. People in the street smile at you, often, and sometimes wish you a nice day for no reason. Even if they obviously are in a difficult place themselves. People in Europe often talk about the American friendliness as being something superficial. But most of the time, I find it to be a genuine thing, and I love that.

3. Do you remember your dreams? If so, what is the last dream you had that affected you?

Not that often. The last one I remember was about my hubby trying to kiss me with this giant green sparkling spider on his face which moved continuously and got bigger the closer he got to me. No idea why I woke up screaming… 🙂

4. If a blogging genie came to you and offered you three blogging-related wishes, what would you wish?

I would wish for a more constant blogging motivation (1), for the time to see it through (2) and for inspirational subjects and topics that keep my followers interested and maybe offer a little added value to them (or simply make them laugh) (3). The thought behind the latter is of course to gain a little more followers over time, but I would already be happy if all of you reading this right now would stay around!

5. If you had the opportunity to explore undiscovered areas of the earth, OR to explore undiscovered areas of outer-space, which would you choose?

Definitely Earth. Why travel so far when undiscovered and certainly fascinating things may just wait around the corner?

If, of course, I could travel on the USS Enterprise with Captain Picard, then I would chose outer-space. And Earl Grey.

6. Why did you start blogging?

To keep my peeps back in the “old country” posted on what’s happening in my new life far away form them. And because I love writing.

7. What is your one, ultimate, life-long dream?

That changed so often, I cannot even remember all of the “ultimate dreams” I already had. Most of them were materialistic anyway, or about exciting and exceptional personal achievements, and there is nothing wrong with that. That’s what dreams are for. One of them was moving to California. Which I did. 🙂

So after giving this some thought, my current one dream is more like a wish, basing on personal experience… My “dream” is dying in peace and of old age (or at least fast and painless).

8. If you had to give up your other achievements to accomplish that dream, would you?

I don’t know if that works… but yes, I would.

9. Do you believe in ghosts? Aliens?

Since stories about ghosts, vampires, werewolves, and whatnot have been around for ages, who am I not to believe in them? As for aliens… for sure we cannot be the only “intelligent” species in this vast universe. And on a side note: my current super official ID says something about “resident alien”. So I am one, basically. 🙂

10. What religion are you most intrigued by? (It doesn’t have to be your religion, you don’t have to be religious — just one that interests you, in good ways or bad.)

Pretty much by every religion. I find it fascinating that humankind came up with so many supreme beings and beliefs. They are all different, but also have a lot similarities. Some are more strict, others leave a lot of freedom. I would love to understand the deep faith some people have in their god(s), and I would also like to get behind the fact why some religions call for “holy wars” to free the world of “disbelievers” or to make them convert.

And here are the questions I would like my nominees to answer:

  1. Are you a cat or a dog person?
  2. If talent, predisposition, time and money wouldn’t have mattered – what would have been your first choice dream job / occupation?
  3. Did you have a hero when you were a child? If yes, who? You can admit to anyone from Superman to your dad or auntie, it would just be great to know about the ‘why’, too.
  4. Is there something you always wanted to blog about, but haven’t found the right angle yet?
  5. What is your favorite painting, and why?
  6. Do you have a bucket list? If yes, and you would have to pick ONE thing only that could happen in the very foreseeable future, which one would it be?
  7. Do you know how to drive a stick shift?
  8. What is your quirkiest, nerdiest feature?
  9. If you could have written a book that is considered a ‘classic’ these days, which one would it be?
  10. Star Wars, Star Trek, both, or naught?

 

And for now, my nominees in no particular order are…

  • Eclectic odds n sods | Justine makes you laugh (and think, too)  with “Parenting, pet tales, learning difficulties & believe it or not some humour!”
  • Rereading Jane Eyre | I “met” Luccia through Writing101 or sometime after, and will review her book very soon (excellent read, check it out!). While waiting for that, you can already screen her blog!
  • eirene’s island | The blog for the “foodie, drinkie or textile junkie”
  • Ways of Life | Cielo makes me laugh, smile, and sometimes she simply makes my day!
  • lorellepage | Reader-to-Writer. Fun and stimulating to follow.
  • Love Happy Notes | Daily fun and inspiration. The name is the game. 🙂
  • Finding Spirit | Jen (who kind of made me read the book that I will hopefully review next week) is according to herself a “writer, reiki master, intuitive reader, mom of two amazingly crazy boys, merch girl and wife of a whiskey maker.” And so much more.

Please check them all out, and I hope you’ll like them as much as I do.

 

And what do you think of the answers, and the questions? Isn’t that always the hardest part?

3 comments

  1. Thank you for the nomination 🙂 I will be adding everybody on your list and ensuring I am more active blogger. I have found it hard to keep up as I try to settle into book 2 – while waiting for rejections – so you should see more of me soon 🙂

    Like

  2. LOVE your answers AND questions! Thank you so much for participating in such detail=]

    Of course, I had to answer your questions:

    1. I never understood this. I’m an ANIMAL person. (But I guess I might like cats a tiny bit more.)
    2. Writer and singer. (I’ve since gotten over the singer dream.)
    3. My stepmom, and I have NO idea why — she’s certainly not now.
    4. I’ve found the right angle, just not the right words/motivation. I have 20 drafts and another 20 things on my list of “things to blog about”.
    5. One my friend did of me.
    6. Nope, I feel like if I had a bucket list and didn’t finish everything, it would mean I wasn’t fulfilled in my life.
    7. NO. Jack was supposed to teach me but never did. Which sucked when our only car was manual.
    8. What is your quirkiest, nerdiest feature?
    9. The Catcher in the Rye
    10. Star Wars over EVERYTHING.

    Like

Leave a Reply

