Sep 11 | The 7 Deadly Sins

The Internet – my best friend, and sometimes my nemesis, too.

Everywhere you look, you find all these lovely silly questionnaires and their likes. I love them, and constantly answer them in my head (or for real, without sharing the results though). Equally attractive are the questions that usually go hand in hand with award nominations. Or rather “most of the time”, because sometimes I hit the point where I find it utterly frustrating to really answer them and also come up with witty questions myself.

When this tag crossed my path, magnetic attraction pulled me in so fast that I think I saw sparks fly… And why not, since it’s dealing with one of my favorite things (books, for those who missed that!). And – yippee-ki-yay – I don’t even have to come up with my own questions or nominations or… Just plain and simple answers. Excellent!

By the way: Does anyone know whether tags like this one exist for food, too?
Maybe I should come up with one, if not…
Who would be in?

sinstag

Anyway – first things first.

I “stumbled” across the 7 Deadly Sins Tag on the blog of Irresponsible Cactus. Please pay her a visit and read what she shares with us about books, trips, movies, music, and more… I find her blog really charming – and the name… Yep, how couldn’t it be charming with such a great name?!

And now, without any further ado, here are my “bookish sins”.

 

Greed – What is your most inexpensive book?

I found this in a used book store in San Francisco (somewhere around Fort Mason) and just had to take it home… it’s hilarious, and was worth every one of the few pennies I paid.

Famous Pairs

 

Famous Pairs:
A Deliciously Absurd Collection of Portraits

 

 

And my Kindle is home to a lot of free “classics”… It’s always good to have a little “world literature” at hand.

 

Wrath – What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

James Joyce. Ulysses. Need I say more? (if more come to mind, I’ll add them)

 

Gluttony – What book have you devoured over and over with no shame?

The Chronicles of Narnia. And “The Historian”.

 

Sloth – What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Intimidation might be a better word here. “The Goldfinch” by Donna Tartt. I started it, but there are so many pages… A new feeling for me to be intimidated by that fact.

 

Pride – What book do you most talk about in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

IMHO: I never manage to sound like that. But if it has to come to it, I would pick something by Shakespeare or Baudelaire (the French original, of course).

 

Lust – What attributes do you find attractive in male or female characters?

Both male and female characters appeal to me when they are authentic and not “overcharged” with too many stereotypes. I like strong female leads, but also male ones. As long as the character is a fit for the story, I wouldn’t say I really have much preferences.

 

Envy – What book would you most like to receive as a gift?

Any of the books below would be mostly welcome. And don’t get me started on the cookbooks I want to have… 🙂

This selection/pick should probably be a little more sophisticated, but this is it, right here, and right now.

 

 

Feel free to participate: If you haven’t done this and do want to, consider yourself tagged now!

Leave a Reply

