Oct 22 | Current reads and cogitations

I didn’t drop off the edge of the earth. But I started a new job.

Sadly, this leaves me with less time to write and blog, but I hope that once I get adjusted to my new routines I’ll be back (with a vengeance).

Anyway, I realized a few things over the past few days and weeks. Some snippets may be important, some are plain trivial, and some are just me:

  • It’s good to use your brain for something you learned (professionally speaking).
  • I really love my sneakers. Does that say something about character?
  • Adjusting your schedule when you have had a lot of free time on your hands and thus a very flexible daily schedule isn’t as easy as I thought.
  • My tolerance for bullshit is way lower than it was a few years back (this has nothing to do with work, though).
  • I am so cranky when I’m tired. 🙂
  • Migraine sucks.
  • My husband must really love me because he puts up with a lot from me. (I love him very dearly, too, by the way. Another realization. But not a surprising one, just one that often slips my mind in daily life.)
  • Why is Halloween and Christmas happening in parallel in the stores, but I haven’t seen any signs for “Order your Turkey now” yet?
  • My best friend is amazing, and I am one happy person to have her in my life.
  • I want to read more and watch less Netflix, but nothing helps me wind down as watching senseless tv action…

Can you relate to some of that? 🙂

Also, my reading habits changed a little (mostly, also due to the job). I am way slower right now (see last point above). Nevertheless, I still read. Currently on my nightstand:

  • All Hallows at Eyre Hall, a great novel by fellow blogger Luccia Gray. Bookreview is in the works, but I can already tell you that I liked it a lot! If you want to know more, here’s a superb Q&A with her!
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan. Boy, it’s interesting. Sometimes it feels like my mind expands while reading. Not finished yet, so the final verdict is still out.
  • And The Moor, by Laurie R. King. The next one on my list of her excellent Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell novels, but I haven’t touched it yet. Soon!

What are you currently reading? And what makes you find book reviews useful? Are you interested in descriptions, or are you also a fan of “overview features” like “I liked…”, “I disliked…”, “Favorite plot move…” and such? Still trying to get better, so your insights are appreciated!

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday night, fellow bloggers, readers and friends!

2 comments

  1. This is a fine list. I second those emotions.
    The Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes books have been very influential on my writing and thinking, as well. I even wrote a letter to Ms. King and received one back, a very nice note encouraging me to keep writing. My favorite is Locked Rooms (you’re not there yet) and my least favorites are Pirate King, O Jerusalem, and Justice Hall. Did you identify the “mystery guest” in Letter of Mary?

    Like

    • That is wonderful, profjojo. I love it when writers area accessible, more so if they are influential and important to you. I started it because someone told me about this local author, and knew about my passion for things Sherlock Holmes. I think Ms. King lives close by, and I like the idea… But I have to admit I am at a loss when it comes to the “mystery guest” (my brain is like Swiss cheese these days, cannot remember anything because I get so “flooded” with new information every day…). Would you mind refreshing my memory?

      Like

Leave a Reply

