Oct 27 | Too late

I spend a lot of time in the car on my daily commute.

I have a lot of time to think on my hands.

Do you ever wonder… what if?

A few weeks back, a “virtual” friend of mine wrote me a very kind message. “Virtual” because we never met in person, and chances were slim we ever would. Still a friend, since we communicated from time to time and took part in each other’s lives at a distance.

At the time, I was too busy to answer her message. I had too much to do. Too much on my mind. I never liked to be rushed when writing and replying messages. I’d rather take my time, sit down and think about what I want to say to make it count. I wanted to write the answer her kind inquiry deserved.

Now it is too late. I found out that she passed away unexpectedly. I waited too long. I took too much time and missed a chance to reply, and maybe brighten her day a little. Maybe. Just a little bit. Only by writing a few words. And taking some minutes. Easy, right?

I am deeply sorry for the missed opportunity.

It reminded me to be more aware, and to be a better friend. I guess people know they can rely on me. But when it comes to allocating time to catch up and stay in touch – this is one endeavor I am really lousy at.

It reminded me that writing a kind message does not mean to write a 500 page novel. Just take a few minutes. Say something nice. From your heart. Don’t overthink it.

What if… ?

I know she would still have died. But maybe I could have made a difference.

 

Leave a Reply

